My Girlfriend is a Nine-Tailed Fox

This story focuses on a young college student named Cha Dae-woong, who dreams of being an action star, until one day he accidently releases a legendary fox with nine tails sealed inside of a painting. Dae-woong tries to flee the area, but he suffers are a life-threatening fall. After the fox, he is rescued by a mysterious and beautiful woman who gives him a fox bead. Later on, he finds out that this woman is really a gumiho disguised as a human. Dae-woong is frightened by this woman, since it is a known myth that gumihos devour men's livers.

This young woman decides to stay by his side. He decides to name this gumiho "Mi-ho" and makes her happy by giving her food and disguising her true identity. Mi-ho dreams of becoming a human one day, so she and Dae-woong decide to make a deal. Mi-ho gives her mystical fox bead to Dae-woong, so he can have the ability of obtaining super speed and increased strength. In turn, he'll help Mi-ho encounter Park Dong-joo, who is a half-human, half-supernatural entity, who has disguised himself as a veterinarian.

Once she meets Dong-joo, he tells her that she will have the ability of becoming a humans is she drinks the blood of a human. Once she does this, she will also need to place the fox bead into their body for 100 days. Once this is complete, her supernatural self will slowly perish. She will live on as a human for 100 days while absorbing the human body's energy. As soon as she reclaims the fox bead, she will become a human, with Dae-woong by her side.

1 Season, 16 Episodes
August 11, 2010
Cast: Min-a Shin, Seung-gi Lee, Min-woo No, Soo-Jin Park

My Girlfriend is a Nine-Tailed Fox Full Episode Guide

  • After breaking things off with Miho, Daewoong begins to regret his decision. Miho prepares to begin her new life with Dongju as Seonju Park.

  • Miho and Daewoong decide to take matters into their own hands, but they are unsure if their plan to save each other's lives has worked.

  • With their days together numbered, Daewoong and Miho set out on a romantic date. Dongju convinces Hyein to try to keep Miho away.

  • After Daewoong confesses his feelings to Miho, Dongju's suspicions about Miho prove to be more than coincidences.

  • Hyein plots to make Miho jealous. Miho realizes she must learn to live without Daewoong.

  • Hyein discovers Miho's secret and threatens to tell. Miho tries to leave Daewoong to avoid the rumors.

  • Hyein continues her investigation on Miho and Daewoong's relationship. Miho has yet to tell Daewoong that she is becoming human and is losing her powers.

  • Daewoong begins to question his feelings for Miho. Hyein becomes suspicious about how Daewoong and Miho met.

  • Dae Woong is forced to choose between Hyein and Miho. Miho gets her first "human" job, and Daewoong's new action skills get praise from his director.

  • Dae Woong and Miho begin a relationship to cover their special situation. Miho starts to become more human.

  • Dae Woong believes that Miho has left him and taken the magic orb. Believing he's free, he moves back into his grandfather's house.

  • Away from Dae Woong, Miho's magic starts to fade, and she begins to return to her natural form. Dae Woong has a change of heart.

  • Dae Woong finds it hard to to balance his new relationship with Miho and his other female friends. Miho must constantly remind Dae Woong about why he's still alive.

  • With nowhere to go, Dae Woong is stuck with Miho, who wants to be human in exchange for giving Dae Woong her magic orb.

  • Dae Woong dreams of becoming a famous actor. Miho dreams of being set free. The two meet by chance when Dae Woong unwittingly frees her from the painting.